Blogging for Breasts

“Pretty women wonder where my secret lies. I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size; But when I start to tell them; They think I’m telling lies. I say, It’s in the reach of my arms; The span of my hips; The stride of my step; The curl of my lips. I’m a woman Phenomenally. Phenomenal woman, That’s me.” ~Maya Angelou

A year ago today I had surgery to remove a lump from my breast.  I remember the process leading up to surgery like it was yesterday.  I remember the utter terror of feeling a lump (7cm!) and the anticipation of that first doctors appointment.  I think deep down it is every women’s fear to find a lump. The waiting game that is played in the New York City medical field.  The sonograms, the biopsies, the results.  The unknown went on for months as I felt the lump grow bigger and my mind wandered to darker places.  The experience was absolutely one of the most terrifying ordeals I’ve experienced and I still consider myself lucky beyond words to hear the doctor say, “it’s benign”.  

This experience, however scary, instilled a deep gratitude for my health and inspired me to always lend a hand, volunteer, take a stand in honor of all the women and men who are fighting against cancer

Today, in honor of the first day of Breast Cancer Awareness Month, the Army of Women asks that all bloggers spread the word about this important organization and assist in the goal of recruiting ONE MILLION women of all ages and ethnicities, with or without a history of breast cancer, to sign up and participate in research studies.  Many of these studies can be completed online and some are more specific.  So this is me telling you to click here and sign up.  By finding the cause, we will be one step closer to finding the cure for breast cancer.

About peach

www.nodtostyle.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blogging for Breasts

  1. echo says:

    We’re all so so grateful that it was benign. İ agree that it’s every woman’s fear to hear those words.

    PS Love the Maya Angelou quote.

Leave a Reply

