California Dreams

A month ago, Wojc and I left the Oregon coast and headed south on Hwy 1 to California.  We are tossing around the idea of moving permanently to the Bay Area and knew we should check it out.  The drive from Port Orford to San Francisco is about an 8 hour drive, we managed to make it in three days.  Yep, that’s how we travel.  Slow and steady wins the race.

The first night we set up camp by Eel River, just upstream from the Reggae on the River location.  What a trip down memory lane.  We attended Reggae shortly after meeting and had the most amazing time frolicking in the hills and dancing all night.  Something shocking about our first night camping was finding out that state parks in California are an outrageous $35 a night.  This upsets me for several reasons, but mainly because it takes away the chance for families to have a good cheap vacation.  As a kid my family went camping all throughout the summer and it is one of my fondest memories of growing up.  A campsite back then wasn’t so much which made it accessible for almost all people.  Now it’s not much cheaper than a motel room.

In the morning we continued driving and cut over on Hwy 1 in Mendocino County with a quick swim/shower in the river.

Wojc took this shot while creeping on the bridge overhead.

Freshly bathed, we headed south through the nauseatingly winding road that is Hwy 1.  Don’t get me wrong, this is by far the most beautiful drive I’ve taken, but with Wojc behind the wheel there was definitely more than one “emergency” pull over.

That evening we started our search for a campsite but ever single place was booked.  Finally, in the last light of day we pulled down to Fort Moss campground.

In the morning as I explored the area I found the most beautiful sites along the trail to Fort Moss.  Nothing like an early morning surprise like this.

I shared the trail with this musician straight from a story book.

After the stroll, we headed south again making beach pit stops and finally rolling into San Francisco that evening.  After a quick dinner in the city to avoid traffic, we headed across the Bay to Oakland where we spent the next several days exploring courtesy of my dearest Gracie.

Later we headed south to Atherton to stay a night with D and Kate who live in such a beautiful area.

Finally, we headed east again to Pleasanton to stay with my high school friend Everett and wow, what an amazing place.  Perfect weather. Beautiful rolling hills.  Huge pool. Most importantly, a ripe orange tree.  Coming from the Pacific Northwest I just can’t grasp walking outside and picking as many oranges as you want.  Call me crazy, but if there is a heaven it is one rich in citrus orchards.  We drank pitcher after pitcher of freshly squeezed juice.

The Bay Area left me with a great impression thanks to all of my generous friends.

About peach

www.nodtostyle.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to California Dreams

  1. Stephanie says:

    Oh my gosh, HWY 1 is no joke! I will never forget the winding winding winding–all while I was PREGNANT! At least I didn’t still have morning sickness. 🙂

  2. Elly says:

    Wow – that looks like an epic road trip! Glad you had a great time 🙂

Leave a Reply

