A faithful friend is the medicine of life.

The past two weeks have been wonderful.  I really can’t describe how good it feels to be back on the west coast permanently.  Sure, I find myself wanting to talk about New York CONSTANTLY and miss my sister and her husband terribly, but otherwise I am loving being out here where everywhere I go I know people.  On the east coast I felt so isolated at times with no other family or close friends.  Here it’s so comforting to have a whole network along the coastline. 

I spent a little under two weeks in Port Orford.  Hanging out at Redfish with quite possibly the best bartender around (hi Lena!) was a refreshing late night activity.  I have yet to eat there, but it looks wonderful and the drinks and view are the best around.  Lucky for me, Sheeba paid me a visit and we closed down not one but two PO bars (honestly, not the hardest thing to do).

Hanging out with my mom is definitely top priority when I’m home.  My mom is the best person around and more like a friend to run around having fun with.

Biking “downtown”

walking the tightrope at paradise point

I must have had amazing timing because my brother came down to visit at the same time.  It’s been too long since I’ve had quality time with him and Sixes trips were a highlight of course with him and my mom.

Erin and her family were in town from Oklahoma City and I was lucky enough to not only see her and Tim but also meet her absolutely adorable daughter.

I really lucked out with so many friends and family in town but when Carrie kindly offered me a ride to Portland I jumped on it.  We had a very pleasant drive to Portland, where I proceeded to miss my train to Seattle.  This worked in my favor though and gave me an AMAZING opportunity to stay with Gretchen at her cute studio in the heart of the city.  Gretch was a wonderful tour guide and I am now in love with Portland.  Of course I went to bed last night horse and coughing from talking non stop with Gretch.  Pretty typical reunion for us.  

 (Note: I’m in Seattle now and it’s wonderful to be back!)

About peach

www.nodtostyle.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A faithful friend is the medicine of life.

  1. Gretchen says:

    Yay! I love that I’m in your blog, it makes me feel super cool and important! I also love how you described my studio as “cute” while everyone one else who’s seen it seems to usually note the small size first. I guess I should have more people stay with me from New York so they’ll all think I’m living the high life. Anywho, it was so great to have you here, I hope your stay in Seattle has been wonderful as well so far! (and I hope you guys decide to stop through here again on your way back down 🙂

  2. Kim says:

    Slacker friend that I am, I finally checked out your blog (which is awesome!). I’m glad you are having such lovely adventures, Miss MarVi and I hope to see you soon.

  3. Elly says:

    Oh, yay for cross country adventures! I love how sometimes messed up plans (or missed train connections) mean other grand adventures, or lovely company. Hurrah 🙂

  4. midlifenatalie says:

    that pic of the coast is amazing. so beautiful. makes me wish i had plans for labor day!

  5. Yay to the west coast! It’s so great here, isn’t it? That little girl is so cute, and it sounds like you’re having a lovely time being back home!

  6. Stephanie says:

    Portlaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand! West coast! Your blog makes me miss it all so much.

Leave a Reply

