Chattanooga Choo Choo

I have so much to say here and I will get to that soon, but for now, with this brief brush with civilization and internet I will keep it short and sweet.  I’m on day ten of driving westward.  This morning I woke up in the suburbs of Chattanooga, TN to air conditioning and a comfortable bed.  Running water and electricity, what luxuries now.  I am experiencing the southern hospitality I’d always heard about first hand.  Last night, we rolled into Chattanooga at dusk, we looked like hillbillies seeing the city for the first time with our dusty truck and bags.  Outside a pub we started talking with a middle age woman and her ex husband, the woman, Holly, seemed friendly and later invited us to stay at her house.  I assumed that meant we could pitch our tent in her yard, but to my surprise she had a huge home and we were given the whole upstairs.  What an unexpected luxury after ten days of camping in a tiny tent.  I love the generosity of complete strangers, gives you hope in humanity, you know?

I’ll pack up in the next few minutes and most likely head west thru Tennessee, but there is the slight chance we’ll make a detour thru Alabama which means I could meet one of my favorite bloggers, Stephanie.  

It’s so exciting to see so much of the country and as exhausting as road tripping can be, I recommend it to everyone.  

I’ll be back soon to write about Shenendoah, Blue Ridge Parkway, Smokey Mountains and slaying the Dragon on the Ducati.

About peach

www.nodtostyle.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chattanooga Choo Choo

  1. echo says:

    Southern hospitality is real, I’m glad you’re getting to experience it first hand. I feel like much of the south is like going to a different country (mostly in a good way). How’s the heat down there? It’s crazy hot up here.

Leave a Reply

